Greetings! I am honored to serve as the new president of the state of Michigan chapter #1607 of Phi Delta Kappa. I want to thank Dr. James Schwarz, superintendent of Avondale Schools, who has served as our president for the last six years. I am also grateful for the members of our Executive Board who have agreed to serve the organization this year.

  • Treasurer: Dr. Mary Anne Homann
  • VP for Membership: Dr. Cynthia Cockrel
  • Secretary: Dr. James Schwarz
  • Newsletter: Kay Cornell
  • Awards/Recognition: Ronald Laeder
  • Foundation Representative: Sherie Williams

Earlier this year, we were thrilled to celebrate our three scholarship winners at our Awards Dinner on May 4 in East Lansing. Kayla Mantey from Spring Arbor University and Joshua Shank from the University of Michigan-Flint received our Chapter Scholarships and Cierra Crawley from Martin Luther King Jr. High School was the recipient of our Foundation Scholarship. See the follow-up story below for more information about these three outstanding students.

Our goal for this coming year is to concentrate on the fiscal stability of the chapter. Following the recommendations of the Executive Board, we have already taken steps in this direction and we will continue throughout the year to work toward this goal.

As always, we welcome your participation in our chapter leadership and activities. If you are interested in joining us, please email me at or call me at (269) 501-4287.

Jane Kramer

Comments are closed.